Michigan Statute of Limitations

July 13, 2014 - Categories: News

A state's statute of limitations law sets the maximum period which one can wait before filing a lawsuit, depending on the type of case or claim. In Michigan, the statute of limitations for various case-types are as follows:

Cause of Action

Statute

Assault and battery: 2 years or 5 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(3), (4), (5) (2020)

Contract: 4 years or 6 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5807(9) (2020); Mich. Comp. Laws § 440.2725(1) (2020)

False imprisonment: 2 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(3) (2020)

Fraud: 6 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5813 (2020)

Legal malpractice: 2 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(8) (2020); Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5838(2) (2020); Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5838b (2020)

Libel: 1 year

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(11) (2020)

Medical malpractice: 2 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(8) (2020); Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5838a(2) (2020)

Personal injury: 3 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(2) (2020)

Product liability: 3 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(12) (2020)

Property damage: 3 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(2) (2020)

Slander: 1 year

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(11) (2020)

Trespass: 3 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(2) (2020)

Wrongful death: 3 years

Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(2) (2020)